ALA Council/Executive Board/Membership Information Session

Saturday, June 22, 2019; 3:00-4:30pm Washington Convention Center, Ballroom A Washington, DC

In accordance with A.4.2.5.2, the ALA Council/Executive Board/Membership Information Session at the ALA Annual Conference will be open to all members.

Presiding Officer: Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President Assisting Presiding Officer: Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President-Elect Secretary of Council: Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Order of Business

• CALL TO ORDER

- Introductions and Announcements, Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President

• **REPORTS**

- ALA Presidents' Report,
 Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President, ALA CD#21.1
- ALA President-Elect's Report, Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President-Elect, ALA CD #29.1
- ALA Executive Director's Report, Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director, ALA CD#23.1
- Budget Analysis and Review Committee (BARC) Report Maggie Farrell, Chair ALA CD#33.1
- ALA Treasurer's Report, Susan H. Hildreth, ALA CD#13.2
- ALA Endowment Trustees Report Rodney Hersberger, Senior Endowment Trustee, ALA CD#16.1

ANNOUNCMENTS

Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director and ALA Secretary of Council

ADJOURNMENT

2018-2019 ALA CD#8.5 FINAL 2019 ALA Annual Conference

ALA Council I

Sunday, June 23, 2019; 8:00am-11:00am Washington Convention Center, Ballroom A Washington, DC

Presiding Officer: Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President Assisting Presiding Officer: Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President-Elect Secretary of Council: Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Order of Business

	**Time Allowance
 CALL TO ORDER, Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President Introductions 	5 Mins.
 FACILITATED DISCUSSION Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion through Social Justice Lens: The ALA Council, DeEtta Jones, DJA Founder and Principal (onsite 	
 CALL TO ORDER, con'td Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President Announcements Establishing the Quorum Adoption of Rules, ALA CD#5 Agenda Review, ALA CD#8.5 	5 Mins
 MINUTES Approval of the 2019 Midwinter Meeting Council Minutes Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President, ALA CD #2.1 	1 Min.
REPORTS OF SPECIAL COMMITTEE	

- ALA Executive Director Search Committee, Courtney L. Young, **5 Mins** Chair

****Time Allowance**

 Reports of Officers: Review of Executive Board Actions since the 2019 Midwinter Meeting, Mary W. Ghikas, Executive Director and Secretary ALA CD#15.2-15.3 	5 Mins
 Implementation of the 2019 ALA Midwinter Meeting Council Actions, Mary W. Ghikas, Executive Director and Secretary ALA CD#9.1 	5 Mins
Reports of ALA/Council Committees:	
 Nominations for the 2019-2020 Council Committee on Committee Election*** Wanda Kay Brown, COC Chair, ALA CD#12 	5 Mins
 Nominations for the 2019-2020 Planning and Budget Assembly Election*** Wanda Kay Brown, COC Chair, ALA CD#12.1 	5 Mins
 Appointment of the Tellers Committee for COC and PBA Elections Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President, ALA CD#12.2 	2 Mins
 Resolutions Committee Report Ed Sanchez, Chair, ALA Resolutions Committee, ALA CD#10.2 	5 Mins
 Adopted Membership Resolutions Ed Sanchez, Chair, ALA Resolutions Committee 	10 Mins
 Resolution in Defense of the Free Speech of Supporters of the Movement for Palestinian Rights, ALA CD#49 	9
\circ Resolution on Renaming the Melvil Dewey Medal, ALA CD#5	50
ANNOUNCMENTS Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director and ALA Secretary of Council	

ADJOURNMENT

ALA Council II

Monday, June 24, 2019; 8:30am-11:30am Washington Convention Center, Ballroom A Washington, DC

Presiding Officer: Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President Assisting Presiding Officer: Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President-Elect Secretary of Council: Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Order of Business

	**Time Allowance
 CALL TO ORDER, Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President Introductions and Announcements Establishing the Quorum Agenda Review, ALA CD#8.6 	5 Mins.
Reports of ALA/Council Committees:	
 Committee on Organization (COO) ALA Councilor, Shali Zhang, Chair, ALA CD#27.1_ACT 	10 Mins.
 Constitution and Bylaws ALA Councilor, Steve Matthews, Chair, ALA CD#25.1_ACT 	10 Mins.
 International Relations Committee ALA Councilor, Robin Kear, Chair, ALA CD#18.1-18.2 	10 Mins.
 Intellectual Freedom Committee (Part 1) Julia Warga, Chair, ALA CD#19.5-19.11_ACT 	15 Mins.

RECOGNITON OF RETIRING COUNCILORS AND EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBERS Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President, ALA CD#48 Reports of Special Committees: Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) Charles Brownstein, FTRF President, ALA CD#22.1 Steering Committee on Organizational Effectives (SCOE) Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada, Chair, ALA CD#45 ANNOUNCMENTS

Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director and ALA Secretary of Council

ADJOURNMENT

ALA Council III

Tuesday, June 25, 2019; 7:45 a.m.-9:45 a.m. Washington Convention Center, Ballroom A Washington, DC

Presiding Officer: Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President Assisting Presiding Officer: Wanda Kay Brown, ALA President-Elect Secretary of Council: Mary W. Ghikas, ALA Executive Director Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Order of Business

		**Time Allowance
•	 CALL TO ORDER, Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President Introductions and Announcements Establishing the Quorum Agenda Review, ALA CD#8.7 	5 Mins.
•	MEMORIALS, TRIBUTES AND TESTIMONIALS Loida Garcia-Febo, ALA President	10 Mins.
	MEMORIALS: Dr. Donald B. Cleveland, M-#6 Nicolette Warisse Sosulski, M-#7 Anne J. Hofmann, M-#8 Patricia Meyer Battin, M-#9 Dr. Catherine Patricia Riesenman, M-#10 Dr. Lucille Cole Thomas, M-#11	
	TRIBUTES: Dr. Ann Carlson Weeks, T-#2 Christine Lind Hage, T-#3 Prue Adler, T-#4	
•	 Reports of Officers: ALA Treasurer's Report, Approval of the Annual Estimates of Income for FY 2020, Susan Hildreth, ALA CD#13.3_act 	15 Mins.

-	Tellers on the COC and PBA Election Results ALA Councilor Vivian Bordeaux, Chair, ALA CD#12.3-12.4	5 Mins.		
-	Committee on Legislation Mario Ascencio, Chair, ALA CD#20.1	5 Mins.		
-	Intellectual Freedom Committee (Part 2) Julia Warga, Chair, ALA CD#19.12-#19.20_act and Committee on Professional Ethics Sara Dallas, Chair, ALA CD# 24.2-24.3_act	20 Mins.		
Reports of Special Committees:				
-	Taskforce on Online Deliberation and Voting for ALA Council Ed Sanchez, Chair, ALA CD #42_act	10 Mins.		
-	Eliminating Library Fines as a form of Social Equity Working Group Peter Hepburn, Chair, ALA CD#43_act	10 Mins.		
-	Council Forum Working Group Susan Jennings, Chair ALA CD#44	5 Mins.		
New Business:				
-	Resolution on Library Service for Children in Detention at Migrant Detention Centers_act, ALA CD#52	5 Mins.		
-	RESOLUTION on eBook pricing for libraries_act, ALA CD#53	5 Mins		
-	Update on ALCTS, LITA, LLAMA, and proposed new Division, Tyler Dzuba	2 Mins.		
ANNOUNCMENTS				
Mary W. Ghiko	as, ALA Executive Director and ALA Secretary of Council	5 Mins.		

ADJOURNMENT