Virtual ALA Council III

Monday, January 24, 2022

(Councilor Attendance Required)

10:30 AM-1:00 PM Hawaii Time / 11:30 AM-2:00 PM Alaska Time / 12:30 PM-3:00 PM Pacific Time 1:30 AM-4:00 PM Mountain Time / 2:30 PM-5:00 PM Central Time / 3:30-6:00 PM Eastern Time Registration Link

You only need to register once for all ALA Council Meetings via the same registration link

Presiding Officer: Patty Wong, ALA President

Assisting Presiding Officer: Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada, ALA President-Elect

Secretary of Council: Tracie D. Hall, ALA Executive Director

Parliamentarian: Eli Mina

Order of Business

Order of Eddiffess				
Central Time*	Topic	Presenter/Facilitator		
2:30 PM - 2:35 PM	 Call to Order Introductions and Announcements Establishing the Quorum Consent Agenda Agenda Review, ALA CD#8.3 action item 	Patty Wong, ALA President		
2:35 PM - 2:40 PM	Memorials, Tributes and Testimonials: MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS HONORING: M-#1 Barbara Immroth M-#2 Mary Redmond M-#3 Kenya S. Flash M-#4 Manuel Urrizola M-#5 Sylvia Sprinkle M-#6 Dr. Teri Lesesne M-#7 Lauren Freeman	Patty Wong, ALA President		
	 TRIBUTE RESOLUTIONS RECOGNIZING/HONORING: T-#1 Aimee Strittmatter 	Patty Wong, ALA President		
2:40 PM - 3:35 PM	Reports of ALA/Council Committees: Report of the Tellers on the ALA Executive Board Council Election Results, ALA CD#11.2 International Relations Committee ALA CD#18 Intellectual Freedom Committee ALA CD#19-19.1 Membership Committee, ALA CD#44_action item Conference Committee, ALA CD#45	Louis Muñoz Jr., Head Teller Dr. Min Chou, IRC Chair Dr. Martin Garnar, IFC Chair Miranda Bennett, MB. Chair Robin Kear, Conf. Comm. Chair		

Central Time*	Topic (cont'd)	Presenter/Facilitator
	 Reports of ALA/Council Committees: cont'd Committee on Diversity, ALA CD#14_ action item Policy Monitoring Committee, ALA CD#17_action item 	Kiera O'Shea Vargas, COD Chair Toni Negro, PMC Chair
3:35 PM - 3:50 PM	 Report of Officers: Budget Objectives/Programmatic Priorities, ALA CD#13.1_ action item Operating Agreement Work Group Update, ALA CD#40 	Maggie Farrell, ALA Treasurer Maggie Farrell and Andrew Pace, OA Co-Chairs
3:50 PM - 4:00 PM	Reports of Special Committees: • Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) ALA CD#22	Barbara Stripling, FTRF Pres.
4:00 PM - 4:30 PM	 New Business/Resolutions: Resolution to Support School and Youth Services Librarians Facing Increased Intellectual Freedom Challenges, ALA CD#51, action item Resolution to Promote Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) Efforts in AASL While Addressing Historical Effects of Racism, ALA CD#52, action item Resolution Calling on the US Executive Branch to Drop All Charges Against Julian Assange, ALA CD#53 action item Resolution related to Structure, Composition, Purpose, and Meetings of ALA Council, ALA CD#54 action item Transforming ALA Governance (TAG) (Part 3), ALA CD#35a-35c, action item 	Dr. Joyce K Valenza, ALA Councilor-at-Large Diane Chen, AASL Division Councilor Tara Brady, SRRT Councilor Jennifer Boettcher, ALA Councilor-at-Large Amy Lappin, Chair of TAG

Central Time*	Topic (cont'd)	Presenter/Facilitator
4:30 PM - 4:35 PM	Announcements	Tracie D. Hall, ALA Executive Director
4:35 PM - 4:45 PM	Break	Patty Wong, ALA President
4:45 PM - 4:55 PM	CLOSED SESSION-Current Councilors Only ALA Honorary Membership Nomination ALA CD#46 and ALA CD#47, action item	Patty Wong, ALA President
4:55 PM- 5:00 PM	Adjournment	Patty Wong, ALA President

