

ALA Council III

Monday, July 1, 2024

(Councilor Attendance Required)

7:00 AM-9:30 AM Hawaii Time /8:00 -10:30 AM Alaska Time / 9:00-11:30 AM Pacific Time 10:00 AM-12:30 PM Mountain Time / 11:00 AM-1:30 PM Central Time / 12:00-2:30 PM Eastern Time

Mission: To provide leadership for the development, promotion, and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning and ensure access to information for all.

Order of Business

Pacific Time*	Topic	Presenter/Facilitator
9:00 AM – 9:05 AM	 Call to Order Introductions and Announcements Establishing the Quorum Consent Agenda	Emily Drabinski, ALA President
	Agenda Review, ALA CD#8.6 action item	
9:05 AM – 9:10 AM	 MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS HONORING: Joseph John Harzbecker Jr., M-#7 Nancy E. Gwinn, M-#8 Karen Crane, M-#9 William Noel, M-#10 Dr. Carole J. McCollough, M-#11 Dr. Phyllis Jean Fisher, M-#12 Linda Anne Dougherty, M-#13 Delaine Andree Eastin, M-#14 Jodie Gambill, M-#15 Carolyn V. Neal, M-#16 Marcia Goodfellow Schatz, M-#17 James (Jim) Joseph Campbell, M-#18 Satia Marshall Orange, M-#19 TRIBUTE RESOLUTIONS RECOGNIZING/HONORING: Tribute Resolution Honoring the ALA International Relations Roundtable 75th Anniversary, T-#3 Tribute Resolution Honoring Dr. Raymond Pun, T-#4 	Emily Drabinski, ALA President
	Report of Officers-cont'd	

Report of Officers-cont'd

9:10 AM - 9:20 AM

- ALA Treasurer's Report
 - Budget Update, ALA CD#13.1
 - Seven Months (March 31st) Financials, ALA CD#13.3
 - Fiscal Year 2025 Revised Budget Schedule, ALA CD#13.4

Peter Hepburn, ALA Treasurer



Reports of ALA/Council Committees - cont'd

9:20 AM – 9:25 AM	 Tellers Report on the CoC and PBA Election Results, ALA CD #12.2 	Dorcas Hand, Head Teller
9:25 AM – 9:35 AM	 Intellectual Freedom Committee, ALA CD#19.3- #19.5 	Lesliediana Jones, IFC Chair
9:35 AM – 9:45 AM	 Committee on Legislation ALA CD#20.1 action item 	Ed Garcia, COL Chair
9:45 AM – 9:55 AM	• International Relations Committee, ALA CD#18.1	Julius C. Jefferson Jr., IRC Chair
9:55 AM – 10:15 AM	Break	
	Reports of Special Committees/Task Forces	
10:15 AM – 10:25 AM	• Freedom to Read Foundation, ALA CD#22.1	Sukrit Goswami, FTRF Pres.
	New Business/Resolutions	
10:25 AM – 10:45 AM	Resolution on the Working Group for ALA Societal Statement Guidelines, ALA CD#53 action item	Stephanie Chase, ALA Executive Board Member
10:45 AM – 11:05 AM	Resolution to Update Recently Removed Language in the ALA Policy Manual, ALA CD#54 action item	Tara Brady, ALA SRRT Councilor
11:05 AM – 11:15 AM	Recognition of Retiring Councilors and Executive Board Members, ALA CD#46.1	Emily Drabinski, ALA President
11:15 AM – 11:30 AM	Announcements and Adjournment	Emily Drabinski, ALA President

Presiding Officer: Emily Drabinski, ALA President

Assisting Presiding Officer: Cindy Hohl, ALA President-Elect Secretary of Council: Leslie Burger, ALA Interim Executive Director

Parliamentarian: Adrian Stratton

Meeting Information:
Zoom Registration
Council Documents