## ALA Council III Monday, June 26, 2023

(Councilor Attendance Required)

5:00 AM-8:00 AM Hawaii Time /6:00 -9:00 AM Alaska Time / 7:00-10:00 AM Pacific Time 8:00-11:00 AM Mountain Time / 9:00 AM-12:00 PM Central Time / 10:00 AM-1:00 PM Eastern Time <u>Registration for the ALA Annual Conference is Required</u>

**Presiding Officer:** Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada, ALA President **Assisting Presiding Officer:** Emily Drabinski, ALA President-Elect **Secretary of Council:** Tracie D. Hall, ALA Executive Director **Parliamentarian:** Adrian Stratton

## **Order of Business**

Central Time*	Торіс	Presenter/Facilitator	
9:00 AM – 9:10 AM	<ul> <li>Call to Order         <ul> <li>Introductions and Announcements</li> <li>Establishing the Quorum</li> </ul> </li> <li>Consent Agenda         <ul> <li>Agenda Review, ALA CD#8.8 action item</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Lessa Pelayo-Lozada, ALA President	
9:10 AM - 9:20 AM	<ul> <li>Memorials, Tributes and Testimonials:</li> <li>MEMORIAL RESOLUTIONS HONORING: <ul> <li>Josephine Maria (Riss) Fang, M-#8</li> <li>David Goodman, M-#9</li> <li>Chris Cottrill, M-#10</li> <li>Jen Angel, M-#11</li> <li>Bill Ott, M-#12</li> <li>Kristen A. Cooper, M-#13</li> <li>Esperanza Bravo de Varona, M-#14</li> <li>Helene Lafrance, M-#15</li> <li>James Henry Jacobs Jr., M-#16</li> <li>Paul Cappuzzello, M-#17</li> <li>Patricia A. Wand, M-#18</li> <li>David S. Baugh, M-#19</li> <li>Rebecca Taylor Bingham, M-#20</li> <li>Terrilyn Chun, M-#21</li> <li>Eleanor M. McKnight, M-#22</li> <li>Joyce Meskis, M-#23</li> <li>Dr. Tracey J. Hunter Hayes, M-#24</li> <li>Daniel Ellsberg, M-#25</li> <li>Aletta Seales, M-#26</li> <li>Charles L. Blockson, M-#28</li> </ul> </li> <li>TRIBUTE RESOLUTIONS RECOGNIZING/HONORING: <ul> <li>Tribute Resolution Recognizing the 50<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Intellectual Freedom Round Table, T-#2</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Lessa Pelayo-Lozada, ALA President	

\*The estimated time allowance is for advisory purposes only. If additional time is needed for any item, it will be taken, subject to the wishes of Council.

## 2022-2023 ALA CD#8.8 2023 ALA Annual Conference

FINAL

Eastern Time	Topic (cont'd)	Presenter/Facilitator
9:20 AM – 9:35 AM	<ul> <li>Report of Officers-cont'd</li> <li>ALA Treasurer's Report         <ul> <li>Budget Update, ALA CD#13.3</li> <li>Seven Months (March 31<sup>st</sup>) Financials, ALA CD#13.4</li> <li>Fiscal Year 2024 Revised Budget Schedule, ALA CD#13.5</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Peter Hepburn, ALA Treasurer
	Reports of ALA/Council Committees-cont'd	
9:35 AM – 9:40 AM	• Tellers Report on the COC and PBA Election Results, ALA CD #12.2	Tarida Anantachai, Head Teller
9:45 AM - 10:00 AM	Committee on Accreditation, ALA CD#30	Dr. Athena Salaba, Committee Chair
	Reports of ALA/Council Committees-cont'd	
10:00 AM – 10:25 AM	<ul> <li>International Relations Committee, ALA CD#18.1         <ul> <li>Resolution on the Selection of Dubai as the location for the IFLA 2024 World Library and Information Congress (WLIC), ALA CD#18.2 action item</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Julius C. Jefferson, IRC Chair
10:25 AM - 10:40 AM	Committee on Legislation ALA CD#20.1	Ed Garcia, COL Chair
10:40 AM – 10:55 AM	Intellectual Freedom Committee, ALA CD#19.1	Lesliediana Jones, Chair
10:55 AM – 11:15 AM	Break	
	Reports of Special Committees/Taskforces	
11:15 AM – 11:25 AM	• Freedom to Read Foundation, ALA CD#22.1	Peter Coyl, FTRF Pres.
11:25 AM – 11:45 AM	<ul> <li>New Business/Resolutions</li> <li>Resolution to Investigate Changing Dates for Future Annual Conferences of the American Library Association, ALA CD#59 action item</li> </ul>	Erin Berman, ALA Councilor
11:45 AM - 11:50 AM	Recognition of Retiring Councilors and Executive Board Members, ALA CD#49	Lessa Pelayo-Lozada, ALA President
11:50 AM - 12:00 PM	Announcements and Adjournment	Lessa Pelayo-Lozada, ALA President

\*The estimated time allowance is for advisory purposes only. If additional time is needed for any item, it will be taken, subject to the wishes of Council.